Mini Lemon Cream Cupcake

I have been wanting to make a really good lemon cupcake for a while now. I have been doing lots of searching for recipes and decided on trying the Lemon Cream Cupcakes over at Carrot Top Mom.  I did make a couple of  changes to her recipe, I used Sour Cream instead of Yogurt and I also made mini cupcakes. They baked perfectly in a 350 degree oven for 15 minutes.

The cupcake is very moist and quite delicious. I love the texture and even the flavor is very good, but I did feel like the lemon flavor was lacking a little. They remind me of the sour cream cookies my grandma used to make at Christmas time. I am thinking that next time I  may try adding some Lemon Jello to the mix to kick up the lemon flavor and color the cake itself a bit.

Cream Cheese Icing:

I have totally spaced out on where I dug up this recipe for the cream cheese frosting and I am really sorry for that because I like to give credit where credit is due.  Anyway, here is the recipe I used. I left out the meringue powder because I don’t have any here, but I would like to get some and try it because I am curious to see if it really stiffens the icing like the recipe says.

8 oz Cream Cheese

4 Tbsp Butter, Softened

1 Tbsp Sour Cream

2 Tsp Meringue Powder

1 Tsp Vanilla Extract

2 Cups Powdered Sugar

In a medium bowl, beat butter and cream cheese until creamy. Beat in sour cream and meringue powder and add vanilla. Add powdered sugar 1/2 cup at a time until combined and fluffy.

Like the Swirl on my icing? Find out how to do make colorful swirled icing from the tutorial over at Chico and Jo

Side Note:

For those of you that don’t know, I have 4 kiddos in the house. Look what happens when you leave teenagers alone with un-used icing…lol

Leave a comment

I would love to hear your thoughts